News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Germanium Voodoo Transistors

Started by Gledison, July 24, 2013, 07:02:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gledison

hey,
I've just learned how to measure the  real hfe of germanium trannies. not much difficult that.
I've tested AC125 and AC128s. it might be that I was veryyy much screwwwed! almost all of them showed a leakage of at least 1, 0 V, correspondint to 410uA in my circuit.
R.G Keen said that more that 300uA of leakage is not acceptable..
im measuring in a couple of them a high Hfe, but also a high leakage. so , what is the most important?
o assume, high gain, little leakeage, sure, but having a final and considerable hfe of 60-70 or 120-150 is enough?
this is a voodooland! I've started last month building and now im spending hours measuring the bloody transistors just to be sure I will get a nice fuzz
any light???
cheers
If i fart a lot,  it means that i'm a Gas expert ?

croquet hoop

Actually, what matters most in a fuzz is the ratio, rather than absolute values. You could get a killer sounding fuzz with Q1 at 50 hfe and Q2 at 70. You don't really need high gain. However, it's best to keep leakage under a certain value, as you've noticed.

(now I understand your comment about voodoo on the other Ge thread ;D)

Gledison

eheheh, there are voodoos everywhere!!
so, you also agree that a leakage of max 300 uA is the limit?
im very pssed off because I bought from a guy that supposedly checked them for real gain..
and I might have been screwed!!
cheers

croquet hoop

From R.G. Keen's article :

QuoteHow much leakage is too much? 100uA is common, 200 happens pretty often. More than 300uA means the device is suspicious, and more than 500uA I would say is bad.