News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Hello! New here!

Started by Blaggahblah, August 01, 2013, 06:47:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blaggahblah

Hello! I'm new here. I have been playing guitar and bass for around 10-ish years and have been mod-ing and rewiring them for most of that time. After seeing what it costs to buy a Fuzz Face rather then make one I got a little miffed and decided that I should try making some pedals since I have some electronics knowledge from time in the military, and since my soldering skills have drastically improved recently. I did attempt a build of a Black-Cat OD1 that did not work out to well and I decided I should start a little smaller. I'm thinking I'll start with a pair of fuzz faces, one germanium and one silicone, and a power supply for both. Eventually I'd like to try some harder ones like a tube screamer or a klon centaur. Anyway, just some ideas. I do have one question though, the Madbean project kits...what all do they include? With the prices where they are I assume that they don't have everything...

Anyway, Thanks for having me! ;D

midwayfair

Hi, there. Welcome to the forum.

The Madbean boards are not kits. They're PCBs (printed circuit boards) only. You have to source all the parts for the build yourself. There are plenty of threads around here about sourcing parts. The search function will bring up tons, and there's a links page on the top domain.

pryde

Hello and welcome.

madbean does not sell kits, you get JUST the pcb which means you need to source all the components to complete the project.

The build documents for each project tell you exactly what you need to populate the pcb. Common sources to get your components are (assuming you are US):

www.smallbearelec.com

www.mammothelectronics.com

www.mouser.com

Tons of knowledge and very helpful folks here so get some madbean pcbs and get busy  ;)

Blaggahblah