News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

How to add a range pot to Madbean Rangemaster?

Started by FloorIt, January 04, 2015, 12:56:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FloorIt

I would like to add a range pot to the Rangemaster in place of the switch.  I have seen posts on how to do this but with pcb's other than Madbean's.  Could someone help me with this?  I'm a newbie, so will need somewhat thorough guidance.  Thanks.

davent

If someone would confirm or ex this it would be much appreciated, it's Saturday night...

http://www.madbeanpedals.com/projects/Rangemaster/Rangemaster2014.pdf

Looking at the 2014 doc schematic you need to jumper 1,2,3 together, the TM switch pads on the board. Cut the trace connecting  C1 and C2.

Your guitar IN will be wired to legs 2, 3 of  a 100k pot then to the IN on the board. Leg 1 of the pot is connected to C2 which has a conveniently placed IN pad if you use a non mojo part for C2.

Schematically... from diystompboxes... Out would be junction of 1,2,3 T/M on the MADbean schematic.

The thread.http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=96308.0;prev_next=next
"If you always do what you always did- you always get what you always got." - Unknown

If my photos are missing again... they're hosted by photobucket... and as of 06/2017 being held hostage... to be continued?

FloorIt

Thanks for your reply.  I don't know enough to be able to comment on this mod.  I'll wait to see what other comments come in.

But one question: I haven't used any Madbean boards yet but he gives this description of their construction: "The site is supported by the sale of PCB products for these projects. These are professionally manufactured with two-layers, solder mask, silk screen".  Are the traces exposed or are they sandwiched between the two layers?  If they are sandwiched, is it possible cut a trace?

RobA

Quote from: FloorIt on January 04, 2015, 02:11:09 AM