Author Topic: Lonestar amp switch  (Read 2268 times)

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4792
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Lonestar amp switch
« on: June 30, 2011, 08:57:18 PM »
A simple "free labor" switch build for my friends Mesa Lonestar.  The original footswitch is HUGE and this will save a little space.  I hope he likes it!

Josh


1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

TheCobbenator

  • Stompbox Star
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
Re: Lonestar amp switch
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 12:42:44 AM »
Love it! I have my channel selector wired in a 1590a for my Mesa Stiletto.  I originally wired it for my Orange AD30, but redid it for the mesa. This makes me think I should make it like this so I can use my solo boost... idk if  care though ;)

nzCdog

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4004
  • Corey - Christchurch, NZ
    • View Profile
    • Soundcloud
Re: Lonestar amp switch
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2011, 02:42:37 AM »
Very tidy!!!  Nice job

dbharris

  • Transistor Tickler
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Lonestar amp switch
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2011, 01:48:24 PM »
That looks great!  I have the same amp, I am planning on doing up a switch in a 125B with a second jack and third switch to control the reverb too.  The only different thing I was considering doing was replacing the red channel LED with a red/green dual LED.  So that on the clean channel the switch LED would match the amp panel LED.  I'm not sure if current flows down that line to light the LED in that state of switching, so I guess I will just have to do some good old trial and error.

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4792
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Re: Lonestar amp switch
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2011, 04:23:27 PM »
My friends is an earlier model that does not have a footswitchable reverb.  You can't put a dual color led without adding a separate battery/power supply.  The LED is set up to power in series when the circuit is closed via the switch.  You'd have to take the led's out of series with the amps power and use a dpdt switch.  Also you'd need to make sure the led's circuit does not ground to the ring of the jack via the enclosure or you'd possibly trip the relay in the amp for the switching action.

Josh
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

dbharris

  • Transistor Tickler
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Lonestar amp switch
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2011, 05:09:21 PM »
Thanks for the infos, I kinda figured it probably would not work they way I hoped.  It's no big deal to have the normal LED scheme.  I usually have the two channels set so different you don't really need an LED anyways to know which is active.  Now I don't have to waste time trying something that wont work. 

-Dan

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4792
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Re: Lonestar amp switch
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2011, 05:08:31 AM »
No problem.  FWIW I did build a switch for my mesa dual rec when I had it.  I did the dual color led thing with a separate power supply it worked out pretty well.  It was a bit overkill though.  I think I would know when it went from shimmering clean to peal the paint gain.  ;D

Josh
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer