News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

So, I've got this thing to troubleshoot and repair...

Started by Willybomb, April 02, 2016, 11:22:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Willybomb

So, I have a Shin-ei Echo Reverb Master that's not in the best shape.  The pots are fairly shot I think - the music/line pot only works around the 1 o'clock position, and the effect it fairly minimal at least.

Jimmy wants a true bypass installed, but I think a loop pedal for it might be a better idea.  I'm going to start with checking solders spots, wd-40 in the pots, and go from there.

Edit:  Thinking about it, I might be able to hardwire the power and use a 3dpt for bypass maybe.  Or something.

gtr2

Why WD-40 in the pots?  Oil based products attract dust and dirt.  Use DeOxit.
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

m-Kresol

if the pots are broken, WD40 or any other cleaner will do no good. You're better off replacing them entirely
I build pedals to hide my lousy playing.

My projects are labeled Quantum Effects. My shared OSH park projects: https://oshpark.com/profiles/m-Kresol
My build docs and tutorials

Willybomb

I've WD40'd the pots before I read the replies. Why WD40? Probably because I saw someone else do it years ago. Pots are nice and smooth for the moment now though.

Now to see how to make it true bypass with the 3 inputs.

lincolnic

WD40's going to attract dirt and dust and shorten the lifespan of your pots. Next time, use DeOxit.

Or, you know, what Josh said.  ;D

Willybomb

I've talked it over with Jimmy, and I'm going to give it a dedicated power switch, and true bypass as it has NO bypass whatsoever.  Currently, the footswitch is a power switch that kills all signal when the power is off, and when you turn it on there is no signal until (I presume) the capacitors charge.