Author Topic: Eagle help - movement  (Read 1644 times)

beneharris

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Eagle help - movement
« on: June 27, 2016, 11:54:16 AM »
I've been playing around with eagle this morning, trying to lay out a board. I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to make smaller movements to individual pieces on the board layout section. The board I'm setting up is 18x18mm, so fairly small. The parts just jump the entire way across the board. Is there a way to move them in smaller increments?

daleykd

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
    • delyk PCBs
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 11:55:01 AM »
Change your grid spacing.  It's like one of the first buttons on the toolbar.

beneharris

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 12:00:54 PM »
Ah, so you don't want that to be the same size as the board? Got it, thanks.

beneharris

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2016, 12:03:52 PM »
That's what I needed, thanks a bunch.

daleykd

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
    • delyk PCBs
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2016, 02:29:38 PM »
Glad I could help, man!  Good luck.

beneharris

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2016, 04:25:30 PM »
Another question since the thread is started. What do you guys put for values on through holes? I keep getting errors saying all of mine have no value. I know that its not going to affect the actual board itself, but I'm curious as to the theory behind why it wants it.

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4788
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2016, 04:30:53 PM »
You need to name the value of the part in the schematic for the error to stop.  For example 100k for R1.

Also for the grid, the use of the alt key for a second grid spacing is helpful.
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

beneharris

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2016, 04:49:10 PM »
You need to name the value of the part in the schematic for the error to stop.  For example 100k for R1.

Also for the grid, the use of the alt key for a second grid spacing is helpful.

Thanks for that ALT tip.

I get it on resistors and caps and such, but I'm getting errors on through holes. I guess I can't figure out what value it would be looking for on non-component items.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 04:51:48 PM by beneharris »

beneharris

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2016, 05:55:33 PM »
Ah, well nevermind, really. I got the board uploaded and ordered. First one, so we'll see how it ends up coming out. Thanks for the help, fellas.

gtr2

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4788
  • Josh
    • View Profile
    • 1776 effects
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2016, 07:52:26 AM »
An example or screenshot would help.  I don't understand what you are referring to tbh.
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

beneharris

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2016, 08:45:58 AM »
Sure, here you go. All of the errors are just through hole pads. I don't know if maybe I'm using the wrong item out of the library for a pad? OSH park had no issues with the board, and its being fabbed, so it certainly isn't a major issue.


daleykd

  • Solder Ninja
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
    • delyk PCBs
Re: Eagle help - movement
« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2016, 09:15:32 AM »
Bah, just ignore those.