News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Cavedweller mod question

Started by jonboper, January 03, 2017, 06:24:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jonboper

Just saw this video, and can't find anything on forum search. Does anyone know what kind of a mod this momentary switch is:

https://youtu.be/46kGWQA-4OQ

midwayfair

short lugs 2 and 3 of the feedback pot. It's the same thing on any PT2399 delay.

If you want something more sophisticated that doesn't ramp up immediately look up the build report for the Joshua Tree Delay.

jonboper

Thanks Midwayfair, I'll check that document out.

Total beginner here - what does that do, if it's possible to boil down.

midwayfair

Quote from: jonboper on January 03, 2017, 07:42:14 PM
Thanks Midwayfair, I'll check that document out.

Total beginner here - what does that do, if it's possible to boil down.

The repeats (Feedback) pot in a delay is a voltage divider. (A volume control is also a voltage divider.) The feedback pot works by returning a small amount of signal back to the input of the delay. Since the signal degrades each time it goes through the delay chip, if it doesn't feed much back (that is, if the pot is turned down), you won't get more than a certain number of repeats.

A voltage divider is two resistors. The intersection is the wiper of the pot:

~~R1~~|<-- take the output from here
             |
             R2
             |
            Ground (no signal)

When the voltage divider is a pot, as you turn the pot clockwise, R1 decreases while R2 increases. The result is more signal is allowed to go to the output rather than (in this case) ground. The opposite results in less signal.

This forms a ratio. If R1 = R2, the ratio is 50/50. This is a loss of 6dB of volume, half the voltage, or any other way you want to express it.

If R1 is, say, 9K and R2 is 1K, that's a ratio of 1:9. Put in say 10V and you only get 1V out.

If R1 is 1K and R2 is 9K, that's a ratio of 9:1. Put in 10V and you get 9V out.