News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

THCustom - Valve Driver 1.2 [Tech help needed]

Started by Topsy, April 12, 2017, 08:01:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Topsy

Hey guys,

1) Valve Driver V1.2 (kit called Tube Driver on Musikding.de, which is where i bought the kit from)
Build document : http://diy.thcustom.com/?wpdmdl=3217

2 / 3) This is my first project and I bought 2x kits knowing that I'd probably mess it up, the first one i boxed it and everything turns out i had multiple errors. Second attempt I decided to rock it before I box it as recommended and here are the issues :
-First test , audio was running through but only the volume knob was working with a very small range (clock wise only from approx 8 o clock till 11 o clock, beyond that there was no impact on the sound). Other knobs didn't have any impact on the sound.

After further research I realised that I had my IC2 in the wrong orientation, so I bought another one and fixed it.
I set up a small testing rig again, now I have no audio running through at all BUT when I crank my preamp and hear the noise , I can hear that the Bass and Treble knobs are indeed in effect as the noise gets more or less bass-y or treble-y as I twist the knobs .
The 5mm led lights up when I power up the pcb and the tube gets a little warm so the juices are flowing.

4) as far as I know I've used all the correct parts -_-' so no substitutes..etc

I have bought a breadboard and I have a multimeter, but given that I am seriously unexperienced. I am unsure on how to put these to good use in my case. I tried doing a continuity check but my multimeter never beeps with any connection on the pcb (only when the probes touch each other when i test them) which leads me to believe i'm doing it wrong.

I have attached a couple of pictures hoping that someone could point out an obvious mistake I have done : http://imgur.com/a/fkOy2