News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

EOL (End of Life) parts, substitutes

Started by gwade001, May 17, 2017, 08:24:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gwade001

Hello all,
Sorry if this topic is handled elsewhere.  While not new to circuits in general, I am new to pedal creation.  What I am finding is in 2017 most of the ICs, transistors, and diodes used in these schematics are quickly being obsoleted. 

I was curious what the creative minds out there were doing about this?  Are you sitting on hoards of parts? Paying out the nose? Going to SMT?  Experimenting with comparable substitutes?

Obviously the big pedal companies are finding a solution to this, I've just haven't found any information in my searches.  Maybe this is a big industry secret.

selfdestroyer

I think we will need specific part numbers you're running into as being obsolete. I can't think of a blanket answer for your question.

Cody

gwade001

Rockhorst

Those have been obsolete since...2014 or so? Places like Small Bear have heaps left for years and years of pedals to come. I know I have.

Govmnt_Lacky

Technically... some of those are not obsolete either. There are some manufacturers (Central comes to mind) that still produce these. Although... for a much higher cost  :o

solderfumes

I've bought NOS J201 and 2n5457s from my local electronics shop -- of questionable quality, mind you -- but moving forward I intend to use still-produced SMT components with the little adaptor boards.  I wish I'd done this already, as I'm working on a compressor that relies on 2n5457s and it appears mine might be fakes.

EBRAddict

The J201 and 2N2547 can be bought as SMD components ex. MMBFJ201 and MMBF5457 and mounted on an adapter board and used just like a TO-92 part. I've got a pedal where the designer included footprints for both packages.

gtr2

Also, check a supplier that specializes in parts that are typically only now used in pedals such as smallbear electronics.

Josh