News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Fat pants jr. HELP!

Started by chris weaver, June 13, 2017, 09:24:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

chris weaver

This is my first build, I've wired up pickups & switches before, but this is a tad different. If someone could 1st take a look at my board to see any problems build/solderwise & 2nd advise me on how to trouble shoot, what steps to take where to begin etc. Thanks!
A caricature is putting the face of a joke on the body of a truth. Joseph Conrad

Aleph Null

1) What exactly is the issue you are experiencing?
2) How are you testing? Are you wiring the input/output directly to jacks, or are you using a bypass switch?
3) Have you tried different with different guitars or amps? Have you tried using a different power source or battery?

chris weaver

I had it all wired up, (inputs led power etc) but I wasn't getting any power to the footswitch. I get 9v coming in, but checking the voltage on the charge pump chip didn't match anything close to what is in the build guide. I'm not familiar enough with the process of verifying current flow is correct. How should i proceed? 
A caricature is putting the face of a joke on the body of a truth. Joseph Conrad

chris weaver

I'm using a 9v plug in power source.

BrianS

I don't see any problem with components but resistor values are hard to see.

Reflow all your joints.  Hook it back up so we can see how you had it wired.  Make sure you clean up all trace solder around the pads (it takes very little to bridge a pad and some look close to being bridged). 

To check voltages ground your meter, power the board and use the positive lead and touch each pin on IC and the 201. Record your findings and post them.

Google how to make an audio probe or use the tutorial that Madbean made here (http://www.madbeanpedals.com/tutorials/downloads/Making_a_Prototyping_Rig.pdf). 
This is one of the essential pieces you will need to trouble shoot a build.