News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Can you hook a brother up?

Started by Ekimneets, October 09, 2018, 06:30:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ekimneets

I won't say I'm a guitarist. I defile my poor guitar. The only semblance of music I can make is running up and down the fretboard on drop D.

I'm trying though. A friend thought that learning jumping jack flash would be good, but I can't find a decent beginners guitar tab for the life of me.

Can someone point me in the direction of one?

I'm serious about how bad I am. Imagine a mummy and a zombie having a baby and the baby tried to play guitar. I am so ham handed that I can't believe I don't break strings every time I bang away.

-Mike
Legion of one at Black Octopus Pedalworx.

somnif

Quote from: Ekimneets on October 09, 2018, 06:30:22 PM
I'm serious about how bad I am. Imagine a mummy and a zombie having a baby and the baby tried to play guitar. I am so ham handed that I can't believe I don't break strings every time I bang away.

Just do what I do, play with a cello bow, and layer on so much reverb and delay that you sound like a stoned blue whale experiencing nirvana in the worlds largest shower stall!

Can't help with the tab though, every time I think of that song, all that comes to mind is the silly 80's Whoopie Goldberg movie that my mom would watch all the time.

reddesert

I'm not near a guitar right now to try it out, but how about this one: https://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/tab/the_rolling_stones/jumpin_jack_flash_tabs_175610

In particular there's a bar labeled "Guitar 1 and 2" at the end of the Intro, and that repeats under Verse 1. It is shown on frets 2 and 4 of the A-D-G strings, and is the "do-do, da-da-da, da-da-da" riff that instantly sounds like Jumpin' Jack Flash (IMO).  You might find it easier to play on the 7 and 9 frets of the E-A-D strings.