News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Where to find Germanium Transistors

Started by sgmezei, November 11, 2011, 06:10:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sgmezei

I posted this over at DIYstomp as well but just in case anyone misses it:

Okay, so I have been getting transistors for fuzz face and rangemaster type circuits mostly from smallbear and want to expand. I want to try and find some locally and experiment with different types/kinds.

I am still learning and don't know where to look. So please, send your hints about what to watch out for. Old organs? old radios?

I have looked a tiny bit on ebay at those larger lots that mostly come out of Europe and don't know how trustworthy they are.

With everyone on here, we should be able get some ideas about things to watch for in classifieds, garage sales, and online.

Also, I tried searching for this topic and could not find it. This has probably been discussed so if you know where to look please post the link.

Thanks team!

juansolo

I really should build another tonebender, so I'll watch this thread with interest. I sold my BYOC ESV and I shouldn't have.. It came back recently for a fettle and it was awesome.
Gnomepage - DIY effects library & stuff in the Stompage bit
"I excite very large doom for days" - playpunk

raulduke

If you head over to stompboxes.co.uk and put a post in the for sale/wanted section someone will probably contact you if you are desperate for German transistors.

They may also be able to give you some hints for where to look.

The guys on that forum are the Ge experts.

raulduke

oops....by German I mean germanium of course; I should really pay attention to what I have written before I post  :)

I put an ad up at stompboxes.co.uk for a set of Tonebender Transistors and got a reply of a guy who set me up with a matched set of RCA's for a reasonable cost (less than buying a matched set from smallbear).

Real OC75's/76's, NKT 275's etc. are really hard to get hold of.