News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Hello from Southern California

Started by peccary, May 03, 2021, 03:56:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

peccary

Hey folks,

I just thought I would stop in and say hello. I've been building pedals as a regular hobby for the past 8 months or so. About 9 years ago I did my first build, which was on vero. I've done a few vero projects since I started last year, but have been doing 99% PCBs now since I discovered people were actually selling PCB clones. Not sure which rock I was hiding under before then. I've completed 8 full pedals and have probably 10 others in various stages of being built, waiting for components and time.

I play bass and a little guitar (cowboy chords). I've been playing bass off and on for the past 20+ years, though it has been at least 5-6 years since I've been in a band, so most of my time has been spent as a bedroom bassist. I tend to play just about every day, even if it's noodling on the couch while watching reruns of Law and Order while the family is sleeping.

I have no real experience with electronics. The closest it comes is when I did facilities management for a restaurant and fixing animatronic monkeys suddenly became part of my job. I have a mechanical mind that can take things apart and put them back together, but the theory of it all tends to be far beyond my aptitude. I am trying to learn, though. Who knows, in a decade or so I might be able to actually sound like I know what I'm talking about.

I have spent a good amount of time on the PedalPCB forum proving my ignorance and noticed some familiar names here. Since they all seemed like good folks I figured I might as well pop in here as well. I've not built any MB boards yet but I will probably grab each of the bass pedals once the Edgelord comes in.

So yeah. Hello!

cooder

Howdy, yes a great place to hang out! And the bass pedals might be just up your alley then...
BigNoise Amplification

jimilee