News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

PS Component Values

Started by skypn, December 27, 2021, 04:45:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

skypn

Consider this schematic:

The section highlighted in pink is what I usually use when I only need 9vdc. Now I need both 9vdc and 4.5vdc. I searched for voltage dividers and they all looked pretty much the same. R2 and R3 always matched (I know why), and usually were 47K. C3 differed also.
My questions are; Should C1 and C3 match? How does changing their values effect the circuit? What should C2's value be?
TIA
Knowledge for Knowledge's Sake

matmosphere

I'm no expert but I think those are working as a voltage divider. I think in this case va is 9v and Vb depends on the value of r2 and r3. In this case I think it's 4.5 because the voltage is evenly divided between Vb and ground.

Could be wrong but that's what it looks like to me.

Aentons

C1,2,3 are all there to smooth out the ripple noise. Having different types and values for each helps to catch different frequencies. So it's better that they don't match. They don't effect the overall voltage output.

skypn

Thx guys! I'll just leave all the values alone.
Knowledge for Knowledge's Sake

midwayfair

C3 technically isn't even really needed if the power supply is really clean after C1, though you do want it absolutely dead silent since that 4.5V is acting as your virtual ground. C3 is just supplemental power filtering. The top leg of the voltage divider forms a low-pass filter, with 47K and a 10uF, which is easily far, far more filtering than you're getting from the few Ohms your power supply presents to the 100uF in C1.

Aentons