News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

PCB Availability

Started by zachlovescoffee, January 08, 2022, 06:43:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zachlovescoffee

I apologize if this has been answered before. I am kind of new to building pedals overall if you couldn't tell from my whacky posts :) I just stumbled on the VFE pedals and these sound absolutely amazing.

The two that stand out to me at the Bumbleee and the Coral Chorus. Is it still possible to buy these PCBs? How does one get the "software" for the VFE? I'm guessing the "VFE" is a chip that has software flashed on it?

The mouser BOM for the VFE boards shows most of the parts out on DEEP back order. Is that just because Mouser sucks? I've found DigiKey generally has everything in stock 100% of the time, but some of this stuff looks pretty niche.

Thanks!

Bio77

Mad Bean should have both of those PCBs in stock soon (according to the projects page).  VFE is a pedal brand, designed by Peter Rutter. He sells his PCB designs through MB. The only special chip is a microcontroller, which is included with the switching board. You might want a couple of builds under your belt before tackling these.  They are challenging. 

Another note is that all the VFE projects use the same switching board, however, you will build it differently depending on the PCB you are matching it up with.  I recommend you check out the build documents for the switching board and the projects you are interested in.  Another tip, the switching board uses some less common parts (e.g., the 1mH choke, regulator, relay, J113, etc.).  I would recommend stocking up on these parts when you order from Mouser or wherever.  You will defiantly build another VFE after your first.  They are really nice.

matmosphere