News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Kompromat only works in bypass

Started by notanelectricalengineer, February 04, 2022, 01:14:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

notanelectricalengineer

I recently built the Kompromat compressor, but I'm only getting a signal through to my amp when the pedal is turned off. I'm getting 9V on the power jack and the voltages on the ICs seem to be more or less correct. The transistors all have a ground reading, which isn't what should be happening according to the voltages page for the Kompromat. I'm thinking this is where my issue is, but I'm not sure how to resolve such a thing. Lastly, the LED isn't turning on when I turn the pedal on either. Any help is appreciated; I'm new to building pedals so hopefully the issue is some oversight on my part and a relatively easy fix. Thanks!

jimilee

Look for solder bridges and reflow all your solder joints.

Then take clear all lit close up photos of both sides and the off board wiring. Ho ahead and list the voltages too, please.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

notanelectricalengineer

From what I can tell there are no bridges.

Voltages (all in mV):
TL072: 1) 27.7 2) 27.8 3) 27.8 4) 0 5) 27.8 6) 28.0 7) 23.5 8) 56.3
LM13700: 1) 2) 124.6 3) 30.0 4) 30.2 5) 18.6 6) 0 8) 53.0 11) 57.0 (The PDF says to ignore 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16)

I've attached a couple pictures. Let me know if you need more or if I should zoom in somewhere.

notanelectricalengineer

Oh and #1 for LM13700 seems to not sit still. It climbs from ~30 to ~120 mV from what I can tell.

jimilee

Pedal building is like the opposite of sex.  All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.

notanelectricalengineer

Sorry for the late response. Busy weekend.
Pin 3 for Q5 is 54.6mV

matmosphere

Are both sides of the resistor right above the opamp soldered?

notanelectricalengineer

jimilee