News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Toshiba Germanium Transistors: Suitable for fuzz pedals?

Started by Matness, March 31, 2023, 03:44:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matness

Hello forum,

I have a handful of Germanium transistors harvested from a 1960s reel-to-reel machine.
Which if any of these might be suitable for building a fuzz pedal? (see photo)

2x     2SB54
2x     2SB415
4x     2SB440
2x     2SB439

Any circuit recommendations or general tips?
I have some electronics experience but am new to building pedals.

Thanks in advance!

derevaun

If you google "2SB54 transistor" you usually get a datasheet link pretty high in the results. Forward current transfer ratio, or gain, is the main thing to find out. All of those are germanium PNP transistors and the datasheets say their gain is 70+. If that turns out to be the case, and their leakage is reasonable, they're in the zone for several fuzz and boost circuits. IMHO the specific part number matters a lot less than the gain and just the individual quirks of the actual transistor in your hand.

You can test their gain and leakage with this method: http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/ffselect.htm

That method needs a specific and precise resistor, so a dedicated tester may be a more appealing route. A lot of people use a component tester like the TC1, which is cheap, or a Peak Atlas model, which is robust and reliable.

So yeah, those have a good chance of being useful, even highly desirable, for fuzz circuits. Build docs for fuzz pedals will suggest gain ranges and gain ratios between transistors.

Matness

Quote from: derevaun on March 31, 2023, 06:13:17 AM
Forward current transfer ratio, or gain, is the main thing to find out. All of those are germanium PNP transistors and the datasheets say their gain is 70+. If that turns out to be the case, and their leakage is reasonable, they're in the zone for several fuzz and boost circuits.