News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

New Rangemaster

Started by alanp, February 18, 2012, 03:05:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alanp

I have a working Rangemaster! I tested it out with a spare shonky battery, the MG15 (the speaker cab is at church atm) and my SSS strat, and it made noise  8)

Not a horrible lot, though.

Rather than start jumping to conclusions (this thing is supposed to be good for 20dB of gain!) I got out the multimeter, and started with the battery of unknown provenance. 30mV... ai corumba, I think I've found my problem.

But once I get a new battery...

Look out neighbours!

Honesty compells me to admit to a flub, though. I left a space under the switch for the battery so it could fit in neat and nice at the bottom of the pedal -- and forgot to allow for the flange on the lid. Gaaaah. I'm going to hacksaw or grind the flange off the bottom 20mm of lid at some point. Rather than mark up the outside of the box, I testfitted parts inside it to see how much room they took up, and marked edges and centrelines with a Vivid. Once done, I lined masking tape inside, copied the markings, and transferred the tape (carefully!) to the outside for a drilling template.

Okay, so this morning I found a 9V with some charge left at church. (I have a bag of 2.1mm sockets for power adaptors, but the Rangemaster is a MINUS 9V unit, meaning it doesn't play nice with plus 9V effects on the same pedal. I thought it best not to tempt fate.)

This sounds very glassy, and also very trebly. It's also very easy to boost it too far! I like the glassy effect it does! It's also very trebly -- I'm going to solder up the T/M switch at some point. This switches between just treble boost (as in the stock version), and a more treble to midrange boost. It sounds absolutely great through my JCM800 I normally keep at church (since it and the cab are a nuisance to carry around), not so hot through the MG15 solidstate practice amp.