News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Bone head move (vague poindexter content)

Started by maysink, September 12, 2010, 07:54:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maysink

So I've been building pedals for nearly 2 years and this is the first time I've ever done this...

I finally got around to wiring up my Poindexter build. Everything had been verified on the breakout/breadboard rig so it was just a matter of throwing the board in the enclosure and finalizing the wiring.

I hook up the guitar and amp and NOTHING!! Not even bypass. So I whip out the DMM and am baffled when there's continuity between the input & output jacks' tips with the pedal in bypass. Many hours later I go back to the noise room only to instantly slap my forehead as I set the pedal down exactly where it was this morning...

I had the guitar plugged into the output and the amp plugged into the input of the pedal. Ugh.
[nothing to see here]
-e

Rich_S

Yup... when it's upside down on the bench with its guts hanging out, the input's on the left.

Me?  My first try usually fails because I forgot to put the op amp in its socket. ::)
I am using you; am I amusing you? - Martha Johnson

Haberdasher

When I built the faultline it was the first time I ever ignored the advice about breadboarding first.  I hooked it up in the box, plugged in, and same thing.  Nothing.  About ten minutes later I realized I hadn't put the transistors in.  All 8 of 'em. Awesome.   8)
Looking for a discontinued madbean board?  Check out my THREAD

FABBED PCB's FOR SALE:
Now carrying Matched JFETS

maysink

You guys. I knew this was 'AA' for pedal addicts!

Rich_S: yep on the 'no-opamp-in-socket' d'oh! My BYOC rat clone begat this lesson. (BTW, the BYOC mighty mouse [rat clone] is THE SHIT!)

Habi: nice!

My first pedal-build boner was freaking out when a pedal did f*ck-all when I forgot to plug in an input cable... Experience is a better teacher than theory. Period.