Author Topic: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots  (Read 4607 times)

Bret608

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« on: March 27, 2012, 08:22:32 AM »
Hi all,

I picked up some of the Guitar PCB pot condoms on sale just to try 'em out. Have any of you found that these are hard to use with PCB-mounted pots? It seems like they make the pot a bit taller, thus making the pot terminals unable to get all the way through the PCB holes. Just wondering if other folks have made this work alright. It seems like the Tayda-style dust covers wouldn't have this issue--am I right?

Thanks!

Bret

mgwhit

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1071
  • Matt
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 08:44:42 AM »
Yeah, I think the "reservoir tip" on those pot condoms make them just a hair too tall.  You could try to snip the tip (which would leave a small exposed area, but still provide plenty of protection) or just go without them.  The rigid nature of the PCB-mount pot lugs should keep the board well off the backs of the pots, especially if you have three or more pots spreading the support across the board.

DutchMF

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 09:16:30 AM »
I've never used pot condoms, but I've started to slip a small square of anti-static foam (Banzai ships their IC's with the pins pushed into the stuff, so that's where I get it) between the pot and the board. All the protection I need!

Paul
"If you can't stand the heat, stay away from the soldering iron!"

pickdropper

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 6158
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 02:01:18 PM »
The Small Bear ones work well too and are only 7 cents or so.
Function f(x)
Follow me on Instagram as pickdropper

TNblueshawk

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2012, 02:52:02 PM »
I've used Barry's condomns on all my builds. On the PCB mounts I have not had a problem but I solder the PCB mounts first and then bend back just a touch and slide the condomn over. All is cool. No issues.
John

alanp

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 5907
  • Aotearoa
    • View Profile
    • http://alanp.info/
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2012, 02:58:36 PM »
I've trimmed ice cream container to size and used that for my builds. It's cheap, and you can cut it to the exact shape and size you need.
"A man is not dead while his name is still spoken."
- Terry Pratchett
My OSHpark shared projects
My website

DutchMF

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2012, 09:29:39 AM »
I've used Barry's condomns on all my builds.

I never use Barry's condoms, I'd rather buy my own. Recycling has it's limits........  ;D ;D
"If you can't stand the heat, stay away from the soldering iron!"

TNblueshawk

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1413
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2012, 10:29:42 AM »
I've used Barry's condomns on all my builds.

I never use Barry's condoms, I'd rather buy my own. Recycling has it's limits........  ;D ;D

But if you order in quantity you can get such a great deal  :o
John

DutchMF

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2012, 12:12:24 PM »
I've used Barry's condomns on all my builds.

I never use Barry's condoms, I'd rather buy my own. Recycling has it's limits........  ;D ;D

But if you order in quantity you can get such a great deal  :o

Let's see if Barry can keep up if the demand increases......  ::)

(OK, this one has reached the limit, let's use our time and resources for something usefull.... Lot of fun though, thanx!)
"If you can't stand the heat, stay away from the soldering iron!"

Bret608

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2012, 08:12:56 AM »
Ha! I didn't know this thread would unleash such ribaldry! Awesome!

Seriously though, thanks for the pointers...I think I may try out a couple of different methods and see what works. I've got enough of the little guys to cut one up a bit and experiment. Paul, I've got some of that foam that comes with the ICs as well. I had no idea it was antistatic!

jkokura

  • Global Moderator
  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 7554
  • Jacob - SK, Canada
    • View Profile
    • JMK PCBs
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2012, 09:15:05 AM »
Ha! I didn't know this thread would unleash such ribaldry! Awesome!

Ribarldry = word of day.

You win the interweb today.

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

Bret608

  • Electron Doctor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1742
    • View Profile
Re: Using "pot condoms" with PCB-mount pots
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2012, 11:43:54 AM »
Awesome! I have Jon Lovitz's SNL skit from back in the day to thank for even knowing that word in the first place!