News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Those with GREAT knowledge of 3080 style comps.

Started by 9Lives, April 15, 2012, 08:48:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

9Lives

I just finished buildng the Sabrotone vero version of the "Jangle Box" it's very dynacompish with some subtle differences. This is my first time using the strip board. It's very useful stuff. I highly recommend it for personal stuff. The problem I ALWAYs run into with these ota compressors is that I get to much distortion. Before anyone jumps down my throat, I understand comps produce noise and yada yada.. I've built several.i just want to know if anyone has a lead on some info about any modifications I can make for my active humbuckers. I can get them pretty clean with hot passive buckers but the actives are just to hot! The only way I can clean it up is to roll back the vol on the guitar and compensate with the boosters after the comps.. What causes this? I can't figure out what part of the circuit that effects this. Impedance maybe? I don't think so. I'm wondering if the ca3080 just can't  amplify that hot of a signal without some clipping somewhere. Am I on the right page, or totally off? The comps I've build with the lm13600 don't dlip near as bad but I just want to understand this. If there was a way to weaken the signal before it hit the amp I think that might be the key but I'm still pretty amateur. Thanks for reading my rambling thought process. Anyone who knows about this I'd greatly appreciate. Thanks.

stecykmi

disclaimer: I don't know the 3080 that well and i'm not that familiar with any 3080 comp builds. however...

I believe OTA's are sensitive to large input signals (I have no idea how to use them, but the LM13600/700 have linearizing diodes to help with this. Most of the time they are left disconnected, however).

My initial thought is to create a little "pad" switch that attenuates the input signal, then make up the gain at the end.

Scruffie