News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

LEDs and PCB mounting

Started by Haberdasher, April 18, 2010, 06:10:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Haberdasher

Hi

I'm trying to order parts from smallbear for the Cupcake and Neutrino.  I'm a little confused about LEDs and the way that boards are mounted/situated inside a box.

LEDs:

What size do most people use, 3 or 5mm?  Does it matter what kind/brightness I get?  Are the resistors for the leds already part of the design or am i supposed to add them?

Board Mounting:

Are the boards just kind of suspended by the pots and LED/bezel, or do I need to order some standoffs?

hellllp  :)
Looking for a discontinued madbean board?  Check out my THREAD

FABBED PCB's FOR SALE:
Now carrying Matched JFETS

lincolnic

I'm by no means an expert, but I'm pretty sure that 5 mm is the standard size. 3 mm LEDs tend to get used more for clipping diodes (anyone more experienced, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong). The resistors for the LEDs are part of the circuit, so you don't have to add anything extra. Get whatever colors make you happy.

As far as mounting, that's a matter of personal preference. If you're using PCB-mounted pots, then those will suspend the board once mounted in the enclosure. If you're not, the stiffness of the wires should hold the board in place. I use Small Bear's #24 pre-bond wire, and I know some of the other folks here do as well. They might have some more advice, too.

Haberdasher

Thanks for the info, linc!

So I guess when I get around to builing the krunkee I should use 3mm led's since the 2 red led's are listed as diodes?  Is that the way to go, or would 5mm's do just as well?

FABBED PCB's FOR SALE:

madbean

The stock Crunchbox uses 5mm for the LED clipping. I don't believe there is a difference in forward voltage between 5mm and 3mm for red diffused LED's, but I haven't checked to be sure. You should be able to fit either on the board, but the 3mm will be a little neater.