News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Going Shopping!

Started by AllenM, November 12, 2012, 06:38:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AllenM

Guys,
Stopping by a mom and pop electronics store (there are still some in business) tomorrow while I am out on a sales call. They have a whole isle filled with bins of Transistors and such. I am still learning about this stuff so if there are any items I should look for in case they have some hidden gems let me know. I am thinking mostly about transistors and other parts used for clipping on ODs and stuff like that. I can also check for ICs while I am there.

AllenM

midwayfair

Just me, but I'd look for the following:

Transistors
"dot" (round plastic case) 2N3565
Any germanium, but preferable TI or RCA.
NOS BC10X in the A ranges.

Diodes
Any germanium diodes, but preferably 1N270 (if less than 60c each) and 1N34A (if less than 50c).
MA856 ... good luck!

ICs
Obviously any Panasonic BBD chips.
CA3080 is probably the only other valuable thing really worth looking out for, but I doubt they'd carry them.

Honestly, though, just grab a smattering of stuff. The chances of them having a bunch of stuff useful to pedal builders is not great. Actual brick and mortar electronics stores tend to cater to radio and computer guys, I think, more than audio.

pickdropper

I always like finding vintage knobs.  Some of those old shops have bins of them.
Function f(x)
Follow me on Instagram as pickdropper

AllenM

I can say that this shop has been in business for a long time and they mostly cater to DiY type folks more than PC builders. For example a couple of years ago I found a box full of HotPotzIIs on the shelf and got them for $1.25 each. I did like you recommended a few years back and grabbed random transistors even though I had no idea what they were for.. here are some of the numbers I have..