News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Where to Buy Diode Sockets?

Started by forsbach, March 04, 2013, 01:19:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

forsbach

Hey guys,
I'm about to start a Kingslayer. This is my first time sourcing my own parts for a build. I've got all my components picked up, but I can't seem to find sockets for the diodes and resistors. I'd like to socket a few things to experiment with the values. Any ideas on where to get the sockets?

Something like Brian did would be great. I'll post a pict of his build to show you what I mean.

stevie1556

What you're looking for is a SIL, or Single Inline Socket. They generally come in a row of 40 and you can just break them off as you need them. In shops or online, they are in the same section as the DIL sockets for chips.

I would offer to send you some, but the postage to the other side of the pond will be about 20x what the sockets are worth.

Sent from my thumbs using Tapatalk!

DutchMF

"If you can't stand the heat, stay away from the soldering iron!"

forsbach

stevie1556

There are a few things that won't fit in them, like a BD437 transistor, and I don't think the 1N400x diodes fit in them either, although I maybe wrong about that.

pickdropper

Quote from: stevie1556 on March 04, 2013, 10:42:33 AM
There are a few things that won't fit in them, like a BD437 transistor, and I don't think the 1N400x diodes fit in them either, although I maybe wrong about that.

Yeah, you *might* be able to force a 1n400x diode in there, but the socket wouldn't be good for the standard component lead after that.
Function f(x)
Follow me on Instagram as pickdropper

whitebread47

Quote from: pickdropper on March 05, 2013, 08:07:29 AM
Yeah, you *might* be able to force a 1n400x diode in there, but the socket wouldn't be good for the standard component lead after that.