madbeanpedals::forum

Projects => Tech Help - Etcher's Paradise => Topic started by: pgodfrin on November 05, 2020, 06:45:18 PM

Title: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 05, 2020, 06:45:18 PM
Howdy folks,
Built this from Effects Layouts: http://effectslayouts.blogspot.com/2016/03/klon-centaur-true-bypass.html#comment-form

Apparently it was built from FSB:https://guitargearfinder.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/klon-centaur-schematic-high-res.jpg

Works great except the sound is very (VERY) trebly. I'm really not certain how to deal with that, but I have a guess. On the schematic C13 is 820p - if I increase that will it reduce the treble? How much should I increase it? If not, any suggestions how to reduce the treble?
much thanks
phil
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: madbean on November 05, 2020, 06:58:22 PM
Should go decently dark when you turn the tone control down, but overall the Klon is capable of a lot of treble boost. If you are completely certain you have all your parts/values right then replacing the 3n9 tone cap with 5n6 or 6n8 will darken it up quite a bit further.
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 05, 2020, 07:04:22 PM
oh kewl Thanks!
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 05, 2020, 07:47:51 PM
Well, put a 6n8 in and nothing changed, dang. Seems like the tone control has little or no effect.
Not sure where to go next...
tx,pg
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: madbean on November 05, 2020, 08:24:04 PM
A pic of the top side of your build would help identify any errors that might be causing the problem. The tone control should have a very noticeable effect.
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 06, 2020, 07:11:16 AM
Roger that mr E Doc!
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 07, 2020, 09:05:34 AM
Howdy,
I reviewed most of the parts, not sure why my capacitance meter wasn't reading the values. But everything looked good. I experimented with spraying the top with clear coat, but I don't like the results, prolly try with matte finish next time. In any case, the arrows point to some box caps I wired in parallel to make the values I didn't have, 390nF and 27nF. The 392k resistor is tucked under the 27nF homemade cap...
I really appreciate the help and advice, much thanks.
pg
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 07, 2020, 09:07:30 AM
I need to find a less impactful (pun intended) way of punching a divot for drilling, the auto-punch I'm using makes a pretty good impact crater! Anyone have any ideas?
pg
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: alanp on November 07, 2020, 01:22:05 PM
A normal center punch and a small hammer, then you can use as much or as little force as you like.

Is it still too much treble, even with the treble knob all the way down? (You didn't wire the treble backwards, did you?)
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 07, 2020, 03:03:15 PM
That's the other issue, the treble know seems to have very little effect. Yeah center punch and small hammer seems the way to go.
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: jimilee on November 07, 2020, 06:28:13 PM
Thatís the unicorn tears working.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 07, 2020, 06:29:33 PM
LOL!!
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 11, 2020, 07:10:08 AM
Not sure where to look next, any one have any ideas?
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: m-Kresol on November 11, 2020, 11:55:10 AM
I'd suggest doing the usual debbuging procedure:
check all solder joints, etch traces, component values and orientation, measure voltages (there are values to compare to in the build docs usually)
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on November 13, 2020, 07:22:14 AM
Yeah that makes sense, I checked most everything. No voltages as there are no docs. I'll go back in again...
:)
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on December 02, 2020, 07:31:46 AM
Well, back to the drawing board. I've reworked the schematic and pcb, in the process of reviewing it. There's so many components in this one, but I managed to get it down to 2x2.75 inches - and yes - two jumpers...
sigh.
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on December 14, 2020, 10:00:59 PM
OK Folks, it works! And then it doesn't. Then it works! Really weird I'm not moving it when it stops, it almost seems like something gets hot and it stops, or expands a solder joint? Or maybe a cap is being overloaded? I don't even know what that sounds like, lol.
Anyway, I'll do the usual, check all the solders and reflow where obvious. I'll get the voltages soon enough.
In the meantime, anyone ever hear of something like this?
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on December 16, 2020, 07:30:36 AM
Howdy folks! Now I know why checking the voltages is useful. I found that pin 7 on IC1 was really unstable, which led me, along with an audio probe, to a cap. Not sure what the issue was, it measured 1.4 uF (for a 1uF elec) but I replaced it. Voila - got a better signal. Replaced the IC as well and I got a working device. Which really made me happy since this was a pcb design I did myself in eagle from a schematic of the Klon Centaur.

I'd like to refine my etching process, as I found a couple teeny weeny flakes of copper causing shorts. One thing I've been doing is giving more space between the leads, which helps a lot. But, this pcb had so many parts I was forced to compress it a little.

Anyway, all's well that ends well!
peace,
pg
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: gordo on December 16, 2020, 10:44:31 AM
Good to see you got it worked out.  I've had the etching fail as well, where you can barely see a short.
Title: Re: KLON Centaur way too much treble
Post by: pgodfrin on December 16, 2020, 05:23:13 PM
I was play testing it today, and it needs a buffer. I have 3 or 4 pedals before it today - yep - buffer...