News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Naughty Fish help, fizzy fuzzy

Started by irvmuller, May 17, 2020, 06:03:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

irvmuller

Just finished building the Naughty Fish but I'm having an issue.

Gain knob works just fine. Clear signal is getting through both in bypass and when the pedal is engaged.  However, I'm getting a buzzy/fuzzy sound when I begin to turn up the Peak knob to engage the filter. I'm thinking it may be the Vactrols I installed. I know people have had issues with Vactrols in the past. Does this sound familiar?

I checked all my soldering and everything looks/feels solid and I'm not seeing any bridging. I originally had the volume know installed but took it out to simplify things and hopefully get rid of any complications. The bridge for that is in the back.

I'm checking the volts on the ICs later today when I get my multimeter delivered. If anyone has any tips let me know. I've never done it before.

Any input is helpful. Thanks.

Update: I went ahead and added the values. I underlined the ones which seem most problematic to me. Any input is helpful!

irvmuller

I got the multimeter yesterday. The Volts measured pretty much right on. However, I had trouble getting the mV to read correctly. The numbers would just not stop changing. I think it was a trouble with the multimeter which I'm exchanging for a newer, better one. The lower the mV the harder it was to pin them down. So, I'm feeling doubtful there's an issue there and am thinking it is probably the Vactrols. Hopefully, I'll be able to get more solid answers soon. If anyone has any thoughts please let me know.

danfrank

Hi,