News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Pig Butt - 1st Pedal Build

Started by JamesMc, May 31, 2020, 07:42:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamesMc

This is my very first build.  Honest critiques would be greatly appreciated.

Already know I don't like the greenies...

Thanks for looking.

lars

That can't be your FIRST build. That looks like your 20th build. Very clean solder joints, especially on switches which can easily have gaps since the holes are large. Clever placement of the LED.
That looks great.
Yep. I clicked the, "continue without supporting us" link....

cooder

Quote from: lars on May 31, 2020, 08:45:11 PM
That can't be your FIRST build. That looks like your 20th build. Very clean solder joints, especially on switches which can easily have gaps since the holes are large. Clever placement of the LED.
That looks great.
What he said.... Noice!
BigNoise Amplification

somnif

Seriously, my first build was a rats nest of wires, tilted components, big splashes of brown flux, and... a non-working circuit. (Not to mention a plain metal enclosure of course)

Very very well done!

nzCdog

Nice one dude, creative graphic...made me smile :)

Hexjibber

That is a really quite excellent first build, inside and out! Really impressive! Keep it up!

rockola

Great job, wish my first effort had been half as swish.

EBK

That is indeed a very fine quality build. 
The only critique I could possibly offer would be regarding the reliability of your shielding.  That box has a lot of paint, and it looks like the threaded bushings of the jacks are the only available ground connections to the enclosure.  This will probably be fine most of the time, but it could be possible to tighten the jacks so that the threads fail to contact the metal of the enclosure. I recommend grinding away a bit of paint from the inside wall around one of the jacks so the jack shoulder can contact the enclosure as well (just need to do this with one of the jacks).