News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Mudbunny Capacitor Questions

Started by DanRaggedy, February 01, 2023, 07:01:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DanRaggedy

Hi All,

I'm new here and wanting to build myself a Mudbunny pedal. I've ordered the PCB and I'm trying to get all the parts for the build. I've found most of the parts, but I'm struggling with a few of them. Specifically, I'm not finding some capacitors. The 560p, 50n, 4n, etc. are missing from guitarpedalparts.com and the other sites I've "found" them on seem a little sketchy (I've tried converting 'n' to 'u' and 'p' numbering as well). I don't have any local stores that have experts to help me, so I thought I'd throw the question out here before I fall down a massive research rabbit hole. I'm hoping there is an easy solution or alternative someone might have for me.

Again, I'm new to all of this, so if there is any good advice someone can bestow on me about buying parts or if there are variety packs, alternatives, or general advice. That would be SO helpful. I want to get into this long-term, so I'm all ears.

Cheers!

mauman

Welcome! 

The vendors listed at the top of this page (see pic below) should be able to supply you.  Also Mouser and Digi-Key have lots of variety.  If you use either of them for caps, watch the voltage ratings (50v to 63v is plenty) and the lead spacing (usually 5mm for most caps, maybe 2.5mm for the picofarad size.)  Making your first few pedals is a bit tricky, 'cause you don't have any inventory of parts.  When you need a part, always get a few extra, and over time you'll build up a stock and can eventually build a pedal from mostly what you have on hand. 

DanRaggedy

Thank you mauman!

I'll check out those sites. The information about ratings and sizes is really helpful too! I did read somewhere that 5mm is common, but it's nice to have confirmation on that. I'll be ordering all the parts (and extras) today.

Cheers

greysun