News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Breadboard Advice...

Started by Haberdasher, April 06, 2010, 09:50:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Haberdasher

Greetings everyone.  This is my first post, and I'm a newb.   I've been studying madbean's board (pictured below) and I have some questions.  I guess I just want to get some advice about breadboarding before I get started.

1) What priority should I place on putting a BB rig together?  I just ordered 4 n00b level boards the website and I'm wondering if I should just try to put together, say, the orange squeezer clone (cupcake) first- or would it be a good idea for me to get the breadboard together beforehand.  Thanks in advance.

2) Out of curiosity, what size cutting board was used in the pic?  10xsomething?

3) How many and what value of pots should I get for a BB?

4)  madbean, where did you get that aluminum sheet?  I've looked around a little and I can't find anything like that.  Is the aluminum merely something to mount switches and knobs to, or does it provide a little noise shielding?

5) Also @ madbean, what is the purpose of the L bracket sticking up on your board?

I know that's a lot of questions, so thanks again.
Looking for a discontinued madbean board?  Check out my THREAD

FABBED PCB's FOR SALE:
Now carrying Matched JFETS

madbean

The rig has changed quite a bit since I took this pic. The newer version has only the breadboards and a 1590A which is hooked up just like a regular pedal without a circuit. I'm also using PCB mounted pots now instead of that aluminum sheet. It's just quicker to pop in the pots that way.

As far as your questions: