News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Soldering ICs

Started by Guybrush, June 15, 2012, 03:50:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guybrush

Hey there.

I've got a bit of free time next week and I plan to make the most of it by finally getting on with some builds.

I'm going to make a Doombutter which will be my first build with an IC (I'm still new to this).  I was just wondering if there are any do's or don't when soldering IC's?  I'm worried about ruining the chips by making a stupid mistake.

Also I'm assuming they need to be orientated a certain way.  Is there any fail safe way of doing this?

Thanks in advance!

irmcdermott

Definitely use sockets, ICs are very easy to damage. On the ICs, there is usually a dot on the top left corner... that is pin 1

pryde

As said, sockets for sure. If you don't have any, your local radio shack carries them.

Also, when installing the IC in the socket (after soldering) don't force it but the IC pins should seat down in the socket a good distance.

I tried to force an IC in once and smashed the legs flat and broke a pin  ::)

gtr2

Sockets are the way to go.

If you do have to solder for some reason.  Solder one leg at a time, leaving plenty of time to cool down between soldering each leg.
1776 EFFECTS STORE     
Contract PCB designer

Guybrush

Cheers guys!.  Sockets have been ordered  :)

whitebread47

I'm still new to this hobby as well (about 10 builds deep), and most of my builds have been IC based.  Sockets have proved indispensable.  I have had some incidental IC difficulties and am very pleased that I did not have to try to desolder an IC from a board!

FWIW,  when placing the IC in the socket, pin 1 on the IC (the dot) will correlate with the square solder pad on the board (unless using vero or perf of course).  Don't know if that is helpful or not, but not knowing this has led me to error in the past.
Blake