News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Slambox "SHO" and 9V Zeneer

Started by dc001013, August 28, 2012, 07:33:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dc001013

Hi guys first post here. There's still ALOT I need to learn but I'm currently building Madbeans Slambox in the the same housing as the Neutrino, "Eternity" also from Madbean, but my question is there anything I can sub for the Zeneer on the Slambox? I stocked up on my parts from smallbear but forgot the Zeneer diode. RadioShack only has like a 5.6 or something like that which I did go ahead and buy but I was going through some other layouts of the SHO and I found one verified using two 1N4148's in D1 and 2 instead of Madbeans suggested 1n4001 and 9.1 Zeneer.

Simply put...is it ok to use other Diodes here? Also, I was under the impression that 9v zeneers were used for polarity protection or overload. Again I'm a newb.

Thanks in advance.

jasonphilly77

Hey dc001013,

Did you ever find an answer to this? I'm in the same boat as you were. Thanks!

-jphilly77

gjcamann

I haven't seen the slambox circuit, but typically in the SHO, the zenier is used to protect the MOSFET. But you can probably get away without it - especially if you're not using this infront of a boost. You could put two 5V zenier's in series (or something like that) and get the same effect.

I would just skip it, use the pedal as is, and get the zenier with your next order because you could blow 20 MOSFET's before you pay for the shipping for 1 zenier. And chances are you probably will never blow the MOSFET anyways even without the zenier.

Good luck..

Clayford

Those diodes are there to protect the BS170 from static discharge. A pair of 4148's or a 4001 and a 9v1 should work without any problem. Zach has also done it with a single. I have a 1n4738 in mine seems to be working just fine.
head solder jockey, part time cook: cranky&jaded

davent