News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Deciding on names for your pedals...

Started by ThePastRecedes, July 27, 2013, 11:24:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ThePastRecedes

How do you guys go around thinking of original names?

I want to think of a name that will be original to me, like a brand lets say. Any thing I think of that can be used is usually taken. Not necessarily by a pedal company but somebody on the internet. For example a band or a tumblr blog. Where would the legality be if I used the same name? Good, Bad or Ugly?  Would I be better off using "example name" pedals instead. I would much rather use "example name" than attach pedals/electronics/industries ect.. to it.

I'm only a hobbyist but still I would like to have a labelling system and logo so I know what I've made once I have sold it. If I choose to sell it. I don't want to spend hours designing logos and graphics if the end product could be illegal. I know I wouldn't get sued or taken to court simple because I wouldn't be making millions of dollars and there would be nothing to get from me. I just want to prevent any idiots arguing with me  ::)

Usually the domain names are available...

Anybody with experience in this area?
I build stuff for myself, sometimes I do 1 offs, I label them as HornBlende Audio.

pickdropper

Well, just because you are small doesn't necessarily mean you won't get sued.  It sounds silly, but companies with protected property are often required to show they have defended it or they may lose exclusivity rights in the future.

But I'm not a legal expert when it comes to this stuff.  Your post is (obviously intentionally) extremely vague, so I don't know if what you are considering would bring you potential issues or not.
Function f(x)
Follow me on Instagram as pickdropper

slacker775