News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Green Bean - My first pedal

Started by pryonisys, April 05, 2016, 01:56:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pryonisys

I am a newbie at pedal building, I've done some very simple things (AB switches and volume knob pedals) but I want to begin building effect pedals.
I want to start by doing a duel overdrive pedal, I'm going to try using the madbean 8ball and madbean Greenbean effects together to make a JHS Double Barrel style overdrive.
I've ordered the PCBs from Madbean, I've ordered parts from Tayda Electronics, my soldering iron and multimeter are ready for use (even if I'm not super comfortable using the multimeter yet).

What I want to know is if there is any simple advice anyone has for me as a new builder.  Is this a more complicated build than I should try as a first attempt or if I am patient and take my time should I be ok?  Is there anything vital I should know before I get started on this build so I don't destroy anything?

I look forward to having something to show for my work and I look forward to being able to contribute to this community.  Thanks.

stringsthings

I use my multimeter for continuity checks as I solder in the parts.  Just follow the schematic to see which parts should connect to each other and check them for continuity as you go.  That eliminates many soldering problems.  I also like to check off each part with a highlighter as I solder them to the board.

Patience here is a real virtue.  And if you make an error, it's not the end of the world.  Troubleshooting is a process we've all gone thru many times.
All You Need Is Love

midwayfair

There are multiple skills involved. One is populating the PCB and getting a working effect.

Another is putting it in a box and having a solid pedal that you can move around and stomp on and expect to work.

A third might be understanding schematics and diagrams.