News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Help with Tayda Tone Bender kit

Started by neiltheseal, December 11, 2022, 01:49:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

neiltheseal

I just put together a tone bender PCB from Tayda. After soldering everything I find that the pedal doesn't work. When I hit the switch the LED lights up but there is no sound. When I turn it off i can hear the clean tone of the guitar.

I'm new to building pedals and new to the forum. I have sucessfully built two kits (one a Tayda fuzz factory and the other an Ali Express Klone) but I am stumped on this.

I followed the instructions provided on their website https://www.taydakits.com/instructions/tone-bender.I made an NPN silicon version and followed the suggested instructions (to the best of my ability) such as reversing the polarity of the electrolytic capacitors and putting the 9v+ where it says 9v-.

I'm using BC108 transistors but tried 2n3904 as well. I just don't know where I might have gone wrong.

I have done some research and it seems the problem might be biasing the first transistor, but I have no idea how do do this. Any help would be appreciated.

mauman

Welcome!

Could we see a picture of the other side of the board?

There are different versions of the Tone Bender, and this one is a Mark II.  The first transistor (Q1) doesn't require biasing.  Q2 and Q3 do need biasing, you can use the two trim pots for that.  Here's a process for that.  You'll first be using the Q2 trim pot while measuring Q3 for a rough bias of both, then individually biasing Q2 and Q3 using their own trim pots. 

1. Set BIAS2 trim pot and BIAS3 trim pot about in the middle of their range.  Apply 9V power to the PCB.
2.  Using a voltmeter set for DC volts, touch the black lead to ground (GND lug on the PCB is good) and the red lead to the Bias3 test point just under the BIAS3 trim pot.