News:

Forum may be experiencing issues.

Main Menu

Aristocrat help, possible wiring issues? I'm a noob

Started by Rocktifier, January 04, 2011, 10:46:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rocktifier

Aristocrat

Just put together my aristocrat and when I went to test it, I got bypass signal but a horrible buzz when i turned either of the switches on.  This is the first time I've tried using the 3pdt wiring boards from smallbear and I think I may have wired something wrong.
I unboxed it to checked for solder bridges and rechecked my wiring to make sure I did what I thought i was supposed to.
I subbed 1n914 for ma856 and 1N4001 for 1S1588
Please ignore the unconnected blue wires for my LED's

If the pic is not clear enough here's how I wired the board to the 3pdt board:

#1 - Out.1
#2 - G.1  
#3 - In.1          
#4 - tip          

#5 - resistor - #6
#7 - LED -
#8 - #4 of second 3pdt switch

(second 3pdt wired the same)

9V and G.3 are running to DC jack

perhaps its a grounding issue? I did't run any grounds from the input jacks

[attachment deleted by admin]

jkokura

It may be grounding, but it could also be any number of other things. If the bypass signal is fine, then it's fair to say the problem is between the switches an the board or on the board.

The build documents are pretty clear about how to wire it. Did you follow the documentation?

Jacob
JMK Pedals - Custom Pedal Creations
JMK PCBs *New Website*
pedal company - youtube - facebook - Used Pedals

Rocktifier

I followed documentation (although it's only for the single sided etched version) and remember I'm using the 3pdt boards from small bear which of course changes how the switches are wired.  I guess I'm wondering when the 3pdt board has a spot for ground, is that connected from the ground spot on the board or the jack or both?

Update:  Since unboxing my project, I get what sounds like the bybass signal with lots of hum whether the effects is engaged or disengaged.

eniacmike